Exit, Exit, Enter


Worms
June 14, 2010, 5:40 pm
Filed under: Misc Thoughts

It’s funny. growing up in the normal suburbia of 21st century pampered life you lose touch. Whether it’s the cookie cutter houses or the preferred texting over voice-to-voice or, *gasp*, even face-to-face contact the ties to mother-nature, or even basic biological sincerity that is cherished in every primate community except the human community, are severed.

It’s easy to forget, living in the anthropological-centered world that we are majority-raised in, that simply 300 years ago in Florida swamps covered everything. Even 20 years ago the neighborhood that I’m so intimate and familiar with didn’t exist and there were trees in which birds and squirrels and insects held ecosystems that were just as intricate as ours exists as today. It’s hilarious even that we as humans started in touch with Nature just like every other organism in the world, lost touch with it, created things to examine and make up touches with it, and now have found the one thing in Science to get back in touch with it and it is taught and absorbed as boring or trivial.

I digress, this isn’t really about Science. As I’ve gotten older I’ve started to value a lot more. Not only value for new things but increased value for things that have been around me my whole life. I remember early mornings in high school when I use to meet the bus at the corner that I met every bus from 3rd to 12th grade. I used to see these Earthworms in the rivets made for rain water run-off. They were usually being attacked by ants. They were definitely going to be killed by ants. Fast-forward to when I got home from school and there were leftover worms – dried up of course. Fast-forward again to my decision to start Vermicomposting this summer. I’m the kind of guy that when I find an interesting thing I make sure to explore every crevice of information that I can. One could call my late-night information gorging as obscene.

Anyway, if you aren’t familiar with Vermicomposting it is basically using Worms (as well as many different microbes that proliferate in certain conditions and break-down decaying organic matter) to recycle your food and anything “organic” (newspaper, cardboard, etc..). The end product is their poop, which happens to be a very rich organic fertilizer. My point in saying all of this is that on those mornings when I saw those worms I thought nothing of them. I thought nothing of them even though one could argue that the stomach of worms has seen the contents of the world and filtered out a beautiful, rich soil. In the absence of knowledge one can neglect such monumental and marvelous things.

As Charles Darwin said, “…it may be doubted if there are any other animals which have played such an important part in the history of the world as these lowly organized creatures.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

